Submissions to the regional contest are open until 11 December 2020.

Banner in english


The International Telecommunication Union Regional Offices for Europe and CIS, and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations Regional Office for Europe and Central Asia is calling for submission of Good practices in the field of digital agriculture for Europe and Central Asia. 

This call is the first phase of the regional contest entitled Digital Excellence in Agriculture in Europe and Central Asia, aiming at collecting good practices in the field of digital agriculture and providing a mechanism for identifying outstanding initiatives, projects and programmes across the regions to be awarded with special recognition of Digital Excellence in Agriculture. ​

It will enable individuals and teams using digital agriculture practices to share knowledge, solutions and suggestions to highlight the potential of scaling-up good practices in the region of Europe and Central Asia.
The regional contest will follow six phases: 

   1. Submission of good practices from 4 November until 11 December 2020;
   2. Nomination of outstanding practices in the course of January 2021;
   3. Production of a stocktaking report including all good practices received;
   4. Selection of the finalists and awardees;
   5. Production of a special promotional video focusing on outstanding good practices as well as the production of the Digital Excellence in Agriculture report;
   6. Award ceremony where the finalists will receive the opportunity to present their good practices and outstanding achievements during the “Digital Excellence in Agriculture in Europe and Central Asia” (February-March 2021) and the winners will be awarded with a special recognition and a trophy.  
To be eligible, solutions must fall under one of the following categories: 

   1. Regulatory frameworks/ Enhanced market access/ Financial services and insurance
   2. Capacity development and empowerment
   3. Agriculture innovations systems and sustainable farming
   4. Disaster risk management and early warning systems
   5. Food safety and traceability

This regional contest is in follow up of a joint ITU-FAO Study on the Status of Digital Agriculture in 18 Countries of Europe and Central Asia​, where information and Communication Technologies (ICTs) have been clearly observed to play an emerging role in Europe and Central Asia in the field of agriculture.

This call will contribute to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) agenda set by the United Nations, and in particular SGD 2 “Zero Hunger”, in order to contribute to close the digital, rural and gender divides, known as the triple divide and include all members of society in the digital transition. The contest is also an important milestone in the implementation of the ITU and FAO Regional Initiatives.


Submissions to the regional contest are open until 11 December 2020.


For more information, please visit the website of the International Telecommunication Union HERE.